Spotlight – SubjectIIChange

Today I am starting a new feature here on Captured With A Camera – Spotlighting some of super rad people I know. First up – A.J from SubjectIIChange .

“One part lust for life and one part rock & roll, Subject II Change is a fantastic jewellery & accessory company that thrives upon the creative execution of unique handcrafted pieces that are inspired by popular culture of the past and present day. Subject II Change was a life long dream that has finally come into fruition. These are crazy and exciting times we live in and in a world that is constantly changing, it’s no surprise that we are changing along with it every day. With this in mind, the Subject II Change collection was designed to offer versatility of character and to compliment the ever-changing life and style of each individual customer.”

Image

• Why jewelry ? What pushed you to take the leap and start your own company?

When I was younger I really enjoyed jewelry. I loved going to festivals, concerts, art shows etc and supporting the local artists by buying a unique piece so I would have a fun story to tell. That’s when I realized I had an obsession for the industry. I decided I wanted to create my own image so I could have my own story. Designing and making my own pieces became my stress reliever and grew to be my passion. The rest is history…

• What is your favourite piece that you have created? That someone else has created?

My favourite piece that I created is called “The Black Keys”. It’s a little mix of vintage meets modern and is a great piece to dress up and down. I always get compliments when I wear it.

I have a favourite designer instead of a particular piece, that designer is Pamela Love. She has awesome ideas that stand out in the fashion industry.

Image

The Black Keys – By SubjectIIChange / Photograph by Stephanie Whiteman

• About how long can a piece take to create?

Each designed piece takes its own time to create, depending on the design elements or even the creative process. Being self-taught does have its disadvantages, sometimes a piece can take me an entire day to create because of trial and error just to make sure its made to last. Once I officially know what I want the design to be and how to create it, the process becomes quicker.

• What accomplishment are you currently most proud of?

It was a tough decision both financially, and as a career choice but I would have to say launching my company. To be honest, I had a lot of fear and I was not sure how it would turn out, but I decided to give it all or nothing. The most important thing I have learned is that if I didn’t go with what my gut instinct was telling me to do, I would currently have a lot of “What ifs”. Sometimes you have to take risks in order for them to pay off.

• What inspires your designs

I get this question a lot and to be honest, my inspiration is random. I go for walks, think about what I would want wear and usually a design idea will pop into my head and I go from there. My recent inspiration came from going to a fabric store and walking around. Sometimes it just happens, but one thing I have learned is to never hesitate to write everything down when it does.

• What does an average day as a jewelry designer/business owner look like?

It’s a lot more work than people think. Especially doing everything on your own.
I usually plan out a work schedule and dedicate certain days to certain tasks. Social media, advertising, press releases, supply shopping, designing, creating etc. But sometimes you cant always work on a schedule especially when I have a burst of creativity. That’s when I stop everything and just go with it and see what happens.

• If someone were to make a movie about your life, who would you hope to play you?

This is a fun question. I feel like Emma Stone would be a good fit because she has a cool chick persona and has a spunky side to her acting. Anyone who knows me, knows I can be very random sometimes and have a sarcastic humor.

Thanks so much A.J for taking some time to chat ! Interested in more from A.J and SubjectIIChange – check out her website or her Facebook page!

Leave a Reply

