I Like Big Books And I Can Not Lie…

“Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers” -Charles William Eliot 

Image

This is why one day having a library will make my life much easier! Over the last little while my collection of photography books has grown and I have a habit of filling bookshelves with impressive speed.

Image

The best part with some of these particular books was that I was able to use a number of them as textbooks and reference pieces while I was completing my University degree! Duel purpose! The only problem was having to move them from place to place – I can tell you they aren’t the lightest of books!Image

Some of these books have been gifts, found in consignment stores, or have even followed me home from long trips. The Willy Ronis book actually came from France after visiting a gallery full of his work. I love how spending time with these books can transport me to the moment represented in the image or even sometimes give inspiration towards my own work!Image

Image

Image

Image

The inside views include – Flash Froward 2007, Imagining Canada , Willy Ronis .

Know of any photographers who’s work I should check out? Are you using books for inspiration or paper weights? 

 

 xo Sarah

Leave a Reply

