Graffiti, Seafood, and a Cactus

After finding out that Sam and I had the same day off we decided to head down to Kensington market to explore. With it being a Saturday there were quite a few people wandering around – goes to show that we had a good idea!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Saw this piece and had to grab a quick snap of it – how perfect!

Image

Image

We ended up stopping at a fish and chips store called Fresco’s Fish and Chips; I am now 100% a fan of the products they serve! I had classic fish and chips however decided to try the one piece as their extra crispy style that the staff member recommended and I am really glad he did. It still had the classic fish and chip taste but the extra crisp just took it over the top. Sam had the Shrimp Po Boy and he ate every bite which just goes to show how good it really was.

Image

The next stop on our adventure ended up being the City of Craft Spring show; it was a last minute find care of instagram at lunch! The show was full of handmade goods, vintage pieces and crafting supplies. I really fell in love with the paper flower blossoms decorations the City of Craft team created! The event took place in the Trinity St. Paul’s United Church located on Bloor St – a great open venue for all kinds of creative people!

Image

Pieces ranged from art prints to fabric to a large selection of jewelry! Some of my personal favorite booths were :

Brooch Boyfriends- ” Wear your heart on your chest” She creates eligible young bachelors or can also get crafty modeling after your own sweet boo or the boyfriend you’ve always wanted!

Kid Icarus-  Is a screen print studio located in Kensington Market that works off of social happenings with loads of style! A greeting card with the Ikea Monkey on the front and Grumpy Cat wrapping paper were among my favorites!

Lee Meszaros – Lee had a number of projects on display but  my favorite had to be her line called “Be Proud” which is a collection of handmade merit badges inspired by everyday life. I was quite involved in Girl Guides when I was younger so I think merit badges are pretty rad!

Image

In the end I narrowed down my favorites to bring one thing home from Shannon Gerard line called “Plants You Can’t Kill” ! I wold like to introduce you to Curtis the Crochet Cactus ; he’s going to live on a bookshelf in our apartment! I love his little tuff of hair!

Image

It’s great now that it is slowly getting warmer in the city there are more events to stumble upon! I wonder what next weekend will bring …

xo Sarah

Leave a Reply

